The archaeological and historical heritage of Raswehera Rajamaha Viharaya

Raswehera Rajamaha Viharaya _50x50_143330426611.jpg

                         This “Raswehera Rajamaha Viharaya” is situated in Kurunagala district in Eahatuwa divisional secretary area. Worship ‘Aukana Viharaya’ across Kalavawa  Galnawa  we can arrive this “Raswehera”. And also we can arrive this temple in Galewela Nagampha road or pass through Galgamuwa and across Eahatowa.

                         Judge the historical background of this temple it was belonging to period of king “Dewana Pathis”. This time the branch of ‘Sri Maha Bodhi’ was in ‘Mahamunawa’  was plant in this place. that branch of bodhi tree was irradiate, so it was become  “Raswehera Viharaya” note by legend.

                        This temple was famous in Sri Lanka because of the statue similar to ‘Aukana’ in here. But this statue is highest and width than “Aukana idol”. The wave of the robe is obvious. This reason it was become “Raswehera Sasseruwa” note in legend. According to legends this “Raswehera” idol and “Aukana” idol was designed by a person donnish and henchman. There are seven idols are in “Sath Viharaya” and there is ‘Vishnu’ and ‘Pathtini’ fanes built in here. A ‘Sathapena Pilimaya’ is in other temple. This temple was belonging to period of king “Walagamba”. This temple also name “Maha Raja Viharaya”. These frescos are similar to “Dabulu len Viharaya’.

                      This old caion is built in small Ben. the thieves are grasp this caion  in many times. There is another caion in down compound. Around this small Ben there are 99 crypts with cauldron in here. The 14 inscriptions are written by Brahma character.  There are promenade, ‘Na’ garden, tanks, ponds and sacred foot in this area. As well as there is a bed belonging to king “Kerthi Sri arjasingha” in period of Kandy. The historical “Raswehera Rajamaha Viharaya” is famous place in Anuradhapura area.



  • Kurunegala, Sri Lanka

Places Nearby

    • Ambakola Wewa
      Ambakola Wewa
    • Diyature
    • Galtissa Bemma
      Galtissa Bemma
    • Hulugalla
    • Kadiragala
    • Keeniyama
    • Kekirihena
    • Kospotu Oya
      Kospotu Oya
    • Madulla
    • Maha Galgamuwa
      Maha Galgamuwa
    • Maha Siyambalangamuwa
      Maha Siyambalanga...
    • Mahananneriya
    • Makadura
    • Meddeketiya
    • Moradioya
    • Nikapitiya
    • Welikumbura
    • Wennaru Wewa
      Wennaru Wewa
    • Alugalge
    • Ridee Viharaya - Silver Temple
      Ridee Viharaya - ...