Discover Western Africa

Explore the diverse archaeological and historical heritage of Western Africa

The Western Africa, is home to the countries of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Republic of Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. Mali, Burkina Faso, Senegal and Niger are mostly in the Sahel, a transition zone between the Sahara desert and the Sudanian Savanna. Benin, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Togo, and Nigeria comprise Guinea, the traditional name for the area near the Gulf of Guinea. Cape Verde is an island country in the Atlantic Ocean, and Saint Helena is an overseas territory of the United Kingdom.

  • Whoa! no place found!
  • Be the first to introduce a place in Western Africa.
  • Sign In & click New to start adding new historically important places.