Discover Horn of Africa

Explore the diverse archaeological and historical heritage of Horn of Africa

The Horn of Africa, is in the region of eastern Africa home to the countries of Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Somalia. It contains diverse areas such as the highlands of the Ethiopian Plateau, the Ogaden desert, and the Eritrean and Somalian coasts and is home to the Amhara, Tigray, Oromo, and Somali peoples, among others. Its coasts are washed by the Red Sea, the Gulf of Aden, and the Indian Ocean, and it has long been in contact with the Arabian Peninsula and South-western Asia. Islam and Christianity are of ancient standing here, and the people speak Afro-Asiatic languages related to those of North Africa and the Middle East

  • National Museum of Somalia
    National Museum of Somalia
    Mogadishu, Somalia   
  • National Museum of Ethiopia
    National Museum of Ethiopia
    Addis Ababa, Ethiopia   
  • National Museum of Eritrea
    National Museum of Eritrea
    Asmara, Eritrea   
  • Djibouti Museum
    Djibouti, Djibouti