Discover Eastern Africa

Explore the diverse archaeological and historical heritage of Eastern Africa

The Eastern Africa, is home to the countries of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Comoros, Mauritius, Seychelles, Réunion, Mayotte, Mozambique, Madagascar, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi belongs to Central East African region, while Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles are small island nations in the Indian Ocean. Réunion and Mayotte are French overseas territories also in the Indian Ocean. Mozambique and Madagascar are often considered part of Southern Africa, on the eastern side of the sub-continent. Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe are often also included in Southern Africa, and formerly of the Central African Federation.

  • History of Koinange Street Red Light Area
    History of Koinange Street Red Light Area
    Nairobi, Kenya   
  • National Museums of Kenya NMK
    National Museums of Kenya NMK
    Nairobi, Kenya   
  • National Museum of Comoros
    National Museum of Comoros
    Moroni, Comoros   
  • National Museum in Gitega
    National Museum in Gitega
    Gitega, Burundi   
  • Copra Plantation House
    Copra Plantation House
    Downtown, British Indian Ocean Territory